Build a pond and the wildlife will come

11 June 2016

We had our patio widened last December, and as part of the work, had a small pond installed, to replace the old pre-formed one we were taking out. The old pond rarely had much in it, as it was too shaded.

We added water and plants, and six months later, it’s amazing what wildlife has moved in:

Froglet clinging to edge of stone, with pond snail to one side, at least five times bigger than the frog

Froglet next to pond snail. The snail was quite big, but new frogs are really tiny

Small creature with a long tail and fins

Unknown creature – if you can tell me what it is, I’d be most grateful

Damselfy clinging to a plant stem

Damselfy. We think this had just emerged from the pond.

Dragonfly or Damselfly larva.

Dragonfly or Damselfly larva.

We also regularly see birds and our cats drinking from the pond (though not at the same time!) It’s a source of endless fascination for us – I’d highly recommend putting in a water feature of some size, however small your garden.

 

 

4 Comments to “Build a pond and the wildlife will come”

  1. Do you think the mystery creature is a salamander? Do you have those in England? Ponds here require pumps and filters or they become mosquito farms. I’ve wanted to add a pond to the garden for ages but have no way to run an electrical line to the pump without digging up half my patio. 😦 Love that little frog!

    • Hi. Don’t think we have salamanders here. Shame about the difficulty of running the electrics – can you not go round the patio? Ponds really are so helpful for wildlife and give so much pleasure to we humans!
      Lyn

  2. I’ve just happened upon your post and I too have just started a pond and recognised a few of your pics. I live in a flat so I don’t (yet) have the privilege of having a proper garden but I do love gardening and wildlife so I’ve started a bucket pond. It sort of happened in error as I went off on holiday having forgotten a bucket with small pebbles outdoors which, on my return, seemed to have attracted some damselflies. As soon as I saw the large red damselfly with his missus attached I thought to grab some bamboo rods I had laying around and drop it in the bucket. Two months later, having added just an oxygenator and long stemmed plant my bucket is now teaming with life! It seems the damselfly larvae have recently hatched and I have acquired a few hitchhiker s from the pond plants I inherited from a friend’s pond. So much for my rambling, the photo of the alien looking tadpole is likely to be a juvenile smooth newt. Judging by the size of those feathery gills it’s over 10 days old. You’re so lucky! Newts are great, although they will feed on tadpoles once they’re large enough. But then just think of all the slugs and snails they’ll save your garden from once they leave the pond! I think I read somewhere that when they lose the feathery gills then their land lungs start to develop so make sure they stay in water if you take any out to get a closer look. Good luck!

    • Hi Christel. Thanks for that input – I had thought it was too large for a young newt, as we find youngsters quite often and I’ve never seen the gills so clearly, but perhaps that was because the other ones we’ve seen were so small we couldn’t make out the gills. Being able to blow up the photo to see the detail was very helpful.
      The story of your bucket pond is fantastic – only goes to show how much wildlife will move in if you give it even half a chance.
      Best wishes
      Lyn

Leave a Reply

