A Spring Break

30 July 2013

Did you see the Springwatch special on butterflies and moths? It was great to see them brought to people’s attention and some good information imparted. If you are in Dorset and want to see butterflies, remember the Dorset Branch of Butterfly Conservation organises butterfly walks – see the website for info. Talking of Spring…..

Two years ago I had a very silly Spring. Hastening out the back door at the end of March to get on with things in the garden, I tripped, fell with my foot over the metal strip at the bottom of the door frame and broke four bones in my foot. I was hobbling around using a zimmer frame (boy, does that make you feel old!) and could only get upstairs on my bum – and all this with an electician working in the house and the roof being re-thatched. The first time I made it outside, the thatchers gave me a cheer!

It got still sillier with two requests from the national Butterfly Conservation to use my garden for filming – being quite close to the HQ means I’m handy. So I had one session on BBC Breakfast show, with the Chief Executive of Butterfly Conservation, Martin Warren, and another with an independant film crew doing a piece for Allan Titchmarsh’s “Love your Garden”.  Both times it rained, and the BBC filming was so early in the day they had to bring in lights!

BBC filming in my garden. The gentleman to the right of the cameraman is Martin Warren, CEO of Butterfly Conservation, and the presenter at the far end is Tim Muffet. I'm the one under the brolly with the foot in plaster!

BBC filming in my garden. The gentleman to the right of the cameraman is Martin Warren, CEO of Butterfly Conservation, and the presenter at the far end is Tim Muffet. I’m the one under the brolly with the foot in plaster!

At least by the time Spun Gold TV visited, it was June and things were rather greener, and I’d progressed to crutches, but it still rained…

Film crew from Spun Gold TV with conservationist, Charlotte Uhlenbroek.

Film crew from Spun Gold TV with conservationist, Charlotte Uhlenbroek.

There is another link to butterflies here, which I’ll tell you about in the next post. Clue – it’s to do with what Charlotte is holding in her hand below…

Charlotte telling us about the life cycle of butterflies.

Charlotte telling us about the life cycle of butterflies.

 

6 Comments to “A Spring Break”

  1. I thought about your blog whilst watching the programme actually. I thought mega-fauna was more Charlotte’s thing?

    • I think you are right – she’s done a lot with chimpanzees. Not sure how the film company got hold of her, but she was very nice and fascinating to talk to.
      Lyn

  2. I loved the show and also thought of your blog whilst watching it, thought ooh maybe Lyn’s garden will show up as one of the ones to inspire others.

    Still few butterflies in my garden and I think they’ve all been Small Whites.

    – By the way this is KiwiGav, I am still reading your blog with great interest, just my posts never seemed to work using the account, instead using my twitter one.

    Regards
    Gav.

    • Hi Gavin. It was good, wasn’t it. Tonight’s Gardener’s World was about attracting wildlife, too – it’s great to see the message being reinforced all the time, it’s what is needed. I go out sometimes in Dorset looking for butterflies, especially where records are sparse, and I see house after house with only plants like petunias and roses, and very little cover for wildlife: it’s very sad. Why do so many people have lawns – I bet a lot of them don’t actually use them, and you can put the space to so much better use.

      My garden is alive with butterflies at the moment – about the best it’s ever been, I think. Large number of Whites, all fighting to lay on the same plants, plus quite a few Peacocks and Red Admirals and odd ones of other species. What a great time of year!

      Lyn

Leave a Reply

