Wildlife value of some garden plants

4 June 2013

It’s about time I showed you how the flower garden is doing. Now we’ve had some good weather, the rate of growth is quite astonishing, and there’s a lot of colour to enjoy.

Garden June 2013

Garden June 2013

In terms of what is good for wildlife, I’ll pick out  a few highlights:

  • The soft pink poppies in the foreground to the left are superb for bees, who buzz round inside the cups formed by the petals getting covered in pollen.
  • The purple flowers amongst the poppies and the pink flowers to the right are aquilegias; these are also good for bees.
  • The very bright pink in the middle of the photo is Red Rose Campion, just like you see on roadsides at this time of year – there are garden varieties, but I’m happy with the wild sort, and it’s more certain that insects will like it. The main insect which uses campion is probably the moth, which may nectar on it, and there are at least nine species of moth whose caterpillars use it as a foodplant. It can become a bit of a problem after it flowers, as it flops in all directions, but that is the time to chop it back – it may even give you a bit more flower later in the year.
  • The pink to the far right of the photo, on the other side of the path, is a hardy geranium called ‘Claridge Druce’. As a garden plant, it’s a thug, but it is very colourful and the white butterflies will sometimes nectar on it.

I’ll round off with a close-up of an Iris sibirica. I’ve no idea if it is of any wildlife value, but I’ve been waiting for it to bloom for three years, so I’m rather pleased with it!

Iris sibirica - pale lilac blue

Iris sibirica

5 Comments to “Wildlife value of some garden plants”

  1. Beautiful gardens! Thank you for sharing!!

  2. What a beautiful garden you have – it looks absolutely stunning. I love the different heights it has too. 🙂

    • Thank you, Sarah. I have to admit some of the height isn’t quite where I’d choose it to be, but stuff self-seeds where it will. I’m getting better at pulling out unwanted seedlings, but I’m still not very good – I tell myself the wildlife will aprreciate it.
      Lyn

  3. Loved seeing the pictures of your garden. And so nice to read gardening and plant advice from someone who knows what they are talking about. So much low grade advice/comments about gardening for butterflies and moths gets churned out!!

    Do so hope your back is better. I know the feeling – my garden is hard work at the moment.

    Lynn Hampshire

Leave a Reply

