Black pheasant

21 February 2013

Black pheasant in garden

Black pheasant in garden

Had an unexpected visitor in the garden today: a male black pheasant. We’ve seen a few in the fields around us recently, so it’s probably wandered in to see what it can find to eat, including the bits fallen out of the bird feeder. He’s rather handsome.

Cosmos limara lemon

Cosmos limara lemon

In the greenhouse, the short yellow cosmos are coming up slowly. The photo is from the seed catalogue (www.plantsofdistinction.co.uk), so it is what they should look like: I’ll do a photo of what they really look like if they grow. I’ve not tried yellow cosmos before, but have read in the past that they do not grow as strongly as the pink/white ones; this variety is only 12-15″ (30cm) tall, so I may put it in some of the containers on my patio – I’m hoping butterflies or other insects will be attracted to it. It’s always difficult to know when to take the seedbox out of the propagator if the seeds don’t all come up together – you can find the early ones becoming leggy while others have not yet germinated; they look OK as yet, so I’ll wait a bit longer.

2 Comments to “Black pheasant”

  1. I would like to thank you for the efforts you have put in penning
    this site. I really hope to check out the same high-grade content by you in
    the future as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get my
    very own blog now 😉

Leave a Reply

